The Ocean Re-CREATION Challenge is a supra-regional hackathon on the topic of coastal and marine protection in Schleswig-Holstein.

Our Ocean Re-CREATION CHALLENGE offers 4.5 days of collaborative conceptual development, prototyping and coding. In addition, there are on 4. and 5th day a 48h Coding Challenge….

This year, we also enabled citizens of the KielRegion to actively participate in finding solutions to challenges for integrated coastal management. You will have the opportunity to network and collaborate with renowned experts. We asked for a week of analog building solutions including 2 days of coding challenge. The concepts and solutions developed by the participants in the hackathon were then transferred to a technological networked context. These include e.g. maritime spatial planning as well as the General Plan for Coastal Protection of Schleswig-Holstein or even the federal strategy of Integrated Coastal Zone Management.

/// ORCC 2022 TARGET ///

WarmUp Phase

In the preparation phase we are from the end of April to mid-September we will go into conversation with you, learn about challenges and show you how you can be part of the hackathon. We also conduct expert interviews and various workshop formats in the region. This involves the administration, ministries, science, business and society in equal measure. The aim is to harmonize integrated approaches around environmental protection, and regional management, economic development and tourism with the creation of awareness among the population. The focus in all our participation formats is on the interdisciplinarity of the networking and exchange formats as well as in the supra-regional cooperation, e.g., in the field of the “European Network”. with Lübeck and Rostock . We deliberately want to incorporate as many different perspectives as possible into the process.

Hackathon Woche

As soon as the Hackathon week starts, it’s #SETTING_SAILS for the future of the Baltic Sea!
You work in interdisciplinary teams on specific challenges and develop innovative solution concepts. These can be both software and hardware-based, or describe service concepts. We offer you a creative working atmosphere right on the waterfront at the Seefischmarkt in Kiel – a place where innovative, smart and digital ideas are created. Each team is actively supported by mentors with technical and methodical expertise. The Hackathon can thus be seen as an innovative and, above all, interdisciplinary form of collaboration between the participants in the KielRegion and beyond. The transfer of knowledge and networking among each other is to be supported by the hackathon. Here, the contribution of knowledge from the various stakeholders plays a major role: transdisciplinarity and interdisciplinarity are to be implemented and lead to active collaboration through action.

Booster Programm

There has been development, coding and tinkering – then comes Pitch Day.
As a team, you present your results from the idea/solution process to a specialist jury. This awards the concepts that have a supra-regional impact on the results. In the evaluation of results, the focus is on the one hand on the relationship to integrated coastal management and on the other hand on the suitability for modeling of the solution. The selected solutions have the chance to be financially supported in our subsequent booster program. The participants of the hackathon can count on the support of various mentors to further develop and implement their ideas.

/// PATRONAGE ///

“We protect what we love! Not only is the ocean beautiful and vital to our blue planet, but it also needs our protection and love. The aim of the United Nations Ocean Decade is that we work together for the ocean that we want for our future – the Ocean Re-CREATION Challenge makes a decisive contribution to this!”

Gesine Meissner Jurymitglied ORCC 2022

Ocean Re-CREATION Partner Network

Organized by

Sponsored by

Förderlogo Smarte KielRegion

EU Foerderlogo sw

An official event of the UN Ocean Decade

Die Ocean Re-CREATION Challenge ist ein überregionaler Hackathon zum Thema Küsten- und Meeresschutz in Schleswig-Holstein.

Unsere Ocean Re-CREATION CHALLENGE bietet 4,5 Tage gemeinsam konzeptionell entwickeln, prototypen und coden. Zusätzlich gibt es am 4. und 5. Tag eine 48h Coding Challenge..

In diesem Jahr ermöglichten wir auch Bürger*innen der KielRegion an, sich aktiv an der Lösungsfindung für Herausforderungen für integriertes Küstenmanagement einbringen zu können. Sie bekommen die Möglichkeit der Vernetzung und der Zusammenarbeit mit renommierten Expert*Innen. Wir baten eine Woche für analoges Bauen von Lösungen inklusive 2 Tage Coding-Challenge. Die von den Teilnehmer*innen im Hackathon erarbeiteten Konzepte und Lösungsvorschläge wurden anschließend in einen technologisch-vernetzten Kontext übertragen werden. Dazu zählen bsp. die maritime Raumordnung sowie der Generalplan Küstenschutz von Schleswig-Holstein oder auch die Bundesstrategie des Integrierten Küstenzonenmanagements.

/// ZIEL DER ORCC 2022 ///

WarmUp Phase

In der Vorbereitungsphase sind wir von Ende April bis Mitte September gehen wir mit euch ins Gespräch, lernen Herausforderungen kennen und zeigen euch wie ihr Teil des Hackathons werden könnt. Darüber hinaus führen wir Experteninterviews und verschiedene Workshopformate in der Region durch. Dabei werden Verwaltung, Ministerien, Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft gleichermaßen eingebunden. Das Ziel ist, integrierte Ansätze um Umweltschutz, und Regionalmanagement, Wirtschaftsförderung und Tourismus mit der Bewussteseinschaffung in der Bevölkerung in Einklang zu bringen. Der Schwerpunkt in allen unseren Beteiligungsformaten liegt auf der Interdisziplinarität der Vernetzungs- und Austauschformate sowie in der überregionalen Zusammenarbeit bspw. mit Lübeck und Rostock . Bewusst wollen wir möglichst unterschiedliche Sichtweisen in den Prozess einfließen lassen.

Hackathon Woche

Sobald die Hackathon-Woche beginnt heißt es #SETTING_SAILS für die Zukunft der Ostsee!
Ihr arbeitet in interdisziplinären Teams an konkreten Herausforderungen und entwickelt innovative Lösungskonzepte. Diese können sowohl Software- als auch Hardware-basiert sein, oder auch Service-Konzepte beschreiben. Wir bieten euch eine kreative Arbeitsatmosphäre direkt an der Waterkant am Seefischmarkt in Kiel – einen Ort, an dem innovative, smarte und digitale Ideen entstehen. Jedes Team wird aktiv von Mentor*innen mit fachlicher und methodischer Expertise unterstützt. Der Hackathon ist damit als eine innovative und vor allem interdisziplinäre Form der Zusammenarbeit der Beteiligten in der KielRegion und darüber hinaus zu betrachten. Der Wissenstransfer und die Vernetzung untereinander soll durch den Hackathon unterstützt werden. Hier spielt das Einbringen von Wissen der unterschiedlichen Stakeholder eine große Rolle: Transdisziplinarität und Interdisziplinarität sollen umgesetzt werden und über Handeln in eine aktive Zusammenarbeit münden.

Booster Programm

Es wurde entwickelt, gecodet und getüftelt – dann folgt der Pitch Day.
Im Team präsentiert ihr eure Ergebnisse aus dem Ideen-/Lösungsprozess einer Fachjury. Diese prämiert die Konzepte, welche eine überregionale Strahlkraft der Ergebnisse ausüben. Bei der Ergebnisbewertung steht zum einen der Bezug zum integrierten Küstenmanagement und zum anderen die Tauglichkeit auf die Modellhaftigkeit der Lösung im Vordergrund. Die ausgewählten Lösungen haben die Chance in unserem anschließenden Booster-Programm finanziell gefördert zu werden. Dabei dürfen die Teilnehmer*innen des Hackathons auf die Unterstützung von verschiedenen Mentoren*innen zählen, um die Ideen weiterentwickeln und umsetzen zu können.

/// SCHIRMHERRSCHAFT ///

„Wir schützen was wir lieben! Der Ozean ist nicht nur wunderschön und lebenswichtig für unseren blauen Planeten, sondern er braucht auch unseren Schutz und unsere Liebe. Die Ozean Dekade der Vereinten Nationen hat zum Ziel, dass wir uns gemeinsam für den Ozean einsetzen, den wir uns für unsere Zukunft wünschen – die Ocean Re-CREATION Challenge trägt dazu entscheidend bei!“

Gesine Meissner Schirmherrin ORCC 2022

Ocean Re-CREATION Partner Netzwerk

Organisiert durch

Gefördert von

Förderlogo Smarte KielRegion

EU Foerderlogo sw

Ein offizielles Event der UN Ozeandekade